









## TELANGANA STATE BIODIVERSITY BOARD UNEP – GEF – MoEFCC-ABS Project

"Strengthening the Implementation of the Biological Diversity Act and Rules with focus on its Access and Benefit Sharing Provisions"

Brief report on "Strengthening of Processes for Access & Benefit Sharing (ABS) of Use of Biological Resources in Research & Development"

Place: National Academy of Agricultural Research Management (NAARM)

Rajendranagar, Hyderabad- 500 030

**Date:** 24-11-2015.

The Telangana State Biodiversity Board is implementing UNEP-GEF-MoEF&CC-ABS Project title-"Strengthening the Implementation of the Biological Diversity Act and Rules with focus on its Access and Benefit Sharing Provisions". As part of project activity the Board has organized a work shop on "Strengthening of Processes for Access & Benefit Sharing (ABS) of Use of Biological Resources in Research & Development". The main objective of the programme is to increase the awareness on the Biological Diversity Act, Rules and ABS mechanism to the research and development department scientists of ICAR, CSIR, IICT, DST and State Universities.

Initially Dr. S.K. Soam, Head, Information and Communication Management Division, NAARM welcomed the gathering and welcomed the guests for the lightening of the lamp.

Dr. Kalpana Shastry, Joint Director, NAARM addressed the meeting and shared her experiences on Biodiversity related issues.

Dr. C. Suvarna, IFS, Member Secretary, Telangana State Biodiversity Board welcomed the gathering and briefed about the provisions of the Biological Diversity Act, 2002, Rules, access and benefit sharing provisions. The Member Secretary has shared her experiences on conservation of biological resources and sustainable utilization of biological resources for future.

Dr. Ishwar C Poojar, Project Manager, UNEP-GEF-MoEF-ABS project, PMU, NBA, Chennai, has made a presentation on provisions of the Act and shared various experiences from national perspective. He gave relevant examples from the country in general and Telangana. Also briefed about the certain activities or persons exempted from approval of NBA or SBB as per the Act and Guidelines on Access to Biological Resources and Associated Knowledge and Benefits Sharing Regulations, 2014. He also explained about the deference strategies applied on levy fees and benefit sharing components.

Dr. K.S. Varaprasad, Director, IIOR, shared his experiences related to Biodiversity act and rules. He also suggested the research institutions involved in R&D activities should also share their information with the state biodiversity board so that the board can ask for benefit sharing components with the company. He gave the examples of IIOR agreements with the TSBDB and the amount shared.

The secession was followed by interaction session with the participants; all the doubts were well clarified.

The workshop was concluded by vote of thanks by Dr. S.K. Soam, Head, Information and Communication Management Division, NAARM.

List of members attended the Awareness programme at NAARM Rajendranagar on 24.11.2015

S.no	Name	Institution	Address
1	Dr. P.S.Vimaladevi	IIOR	Hyderabad
2	P.G.Prabhakara Rao	CFTRI	Hyderabad
3	A. Nagender	CFTRI	Hyderabad
4	Dr. N. Sunil	WNC, ICAR-IIMR	Hyderabad
5	Subhash.S.P	NAARM	Hyderabad
6	Dr. D. Ratna Kumari	CHSc, PJSTAU	Hyderabad
7	Dr. M. Balakrishnan	NAARM	Hyderabad
8	Sr. S. Sucharitha	PGRC, CHSc, PJSTAU	Hyderabad
9	Abdul Fiyaz. R	IIRR	Hyderabad

10	Gireesh .C	IIRR	Hyderabad
11	Dr. T. Suresh Kumar	HRS, SKLT'HO	Hyderabad
12	Dr. M.R.Reddy	ICAR-DPR	Hyderabad
13	Dr. Chari Appaji	Director, ICAR-ATARI	Hyderabad
14	Dr. JV Prasad	ICAR-ATARI	Hyderabad
15	Subhash M Lode	NAARM	Hyderabad
16	Dr. S. Maqbool Ahmed	MANUU	Hyderabad
17	Dr.SS Rao	IIMR	Hyderabad
18	Dr. G. Umapathy	ССМВ	Hyderabad
19	Dr. K Sheshagiri Rao	UoH	Hyderabad
20	N. Sivaraj	NBPGR	Hyderabad
21	Dr. A.Ravikiran	GPRCP	Hyderabad
22	Dr. RD Prasad	IIOR	Hyderabad
23	Dr. PD Sreekanth	NAARM	Hyderabad
24	Dr. R. Ananthan	NIN	Hyderabad
25	Dr. K Rajender Rao	NIN	Hyderabad
26	Dr. M. Madhavi	Dept.Zoology, Nizam College	Hyderabad
27	Dr. M Elangovan	IIMR	Hyderabad
28	Dr. C. Srinivasulu	Dept. Botany, OU	Hyderabad
29	Dr. C Rajashekar	CSA	Hyderabad
30	Dr. Suneetha Kota	ICAR-IIRR	Hyderabad
31	Dr. VR Reddy	AINP on VPM, PJTSAU	Hyderabad
32	Dr. V. Sunitha	AINP on VPM, PJTSAU	Hyderabad

33	Dr. Sivaramane N	NAARM	Hyderabad
34	Dr. N Sandhya	NAARM	Hyderabad
35	Dr. P. Venkatesan	NAARM	Hyderabad
36	Dr. UV Malladhavan	IICT	Hyderabad
37	Dr. P. Mangala Gowri	IICT	Hyderabad
38	Dr. Vasudevarao	PJTSAU	Hyderabad
39	Dr. KS Varaprasad	Director, IIOR	Hyderabad
40	Dr. R. Kalpana Sastry	JD, NAARM	Hyderabad
41	Dr. Ishwar C Poojar	PMU, NBA	Hyderabad
42	Dr. SK Soam	NAARM	Hyderabad
43	Sivaprasad	NBA	Hyderabad
44	Dr. P. Chaya	UCS, OU	Hyderabad
45	Dr. AVB Reddy	UCS, OU	Hyderabad
46	Dr. Nageswara Rao	UCS, OU	Hyderabad
47	Dr. V. Srinivasa Rao	APSBDB	Hyderabad
48	Dr. M. Uma	Womens College, OU	Hyderabad
49	Dr. PR Sushma	OU	Hyderabad
50	N.L. Bhavani	UCS, OU	Hyderabad
51	Dr. Shilpi	TSBDB	Hyderabad
52	Lingarao V	TSBDB	Hyderabad
53	R. Prasad Babu	TSBDB	Hyderabad
54	Bhavya	NAARM	Hyderabad
55	K. Lavanya	TSBDB	Hyderabad

56	M. Venkanna	TSBDB	Hyderabad
57	Thirumalesh	TSBDB	Hyderabad

## **PHOTO GALLERY**

























